Training in Montana Running Blog at FastRunningBlog.Com http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/ Fri, 25 May 2018 06:31:02 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Tue, May 22, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-22-2018.html <p>25 minutes recumbent bike at a 13-14 resistance, 3:00 pace. Good amount of sweat from a low impact exercise. Then did some weights. Then showered and hurried back to a meeting.</p> Tue, 22 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 21, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-21-2018.html <p>Noon Boot Camp. Shoulders,&nbsp;hamstrings,&nbsp;and lower back muscles (the good ones) will be sore tomorrow.</p> Mon, 21 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 18, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-18-2018.html <p>25 minutes bike, 15 minutes elliptical, curls, press, triceps, pushups, plank.</p> Fri, 18 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 16, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-16-2018.html <p>Noon Boot Camp. Finished it.</p> Wed, 16 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 15, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-15-2018.html <p>I need to stop eating so much. Can&#39;t wait to run again so I can keep eating but still shed pounds. Or not.</p> <p>35 minutes on the recumbent bike, worked up a decent sweat. Then some weights - 25 curls x 30 lbs; 15 presses x 50 lbs; 15 tricep dips x 50 lbs. 30 pushups, 60 second planks, 5 pullups.</p> Tue, 15 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 14, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-14-2018.html <p>Did Boot Camp for 25 minutes then tapped out. I was getting dizzy after 10 reps or so, and it wasn&#39;t getting any better. After getting back to the office I drank&nbsp;a couple non-diet sodas, ate sandwich and soup, and a small bag of potato chips. Not sure if I was sodium deficient or what, but it felt odd. Friday I wasn&#39;t struggling like this and the exercises weren&#39;t all that different.</p> Mon, 14 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, May 11, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-11-2018.html <p>Rode the bike for 20 minutes before work. Hoping to hit Boot Camp at Noon.</p> Fri, 11 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 09, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-09-2018.html <p>Quick session before an all day team meeting. 10 minutes bike, 5 minutes elliptical. Got some decent sweat on for a short time. Curls, Press, Dips, Pushups, Plank.</p> Wed, 09 May 2018 06:00:00 Mon, May 07, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-07-2018.html <p>Noon Boot Camp. My shoulders (and other body parts) will be sore tomorrow. I think Chantelle is evil but she&#39;s always smiling and laughing. I bet she tortures puppies.</p> Mon, 07 May 2018 06:00:00 Sat, May 05, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-05-2018.html <p>Lots of walking around in Twin Falls, Idaho. Woke up earlier than planned, went for a walk, then during the tournament walked a lot, then at night went for a walk with my wife. About 9 miles total according to my iPhone. Not sure how accurate that is, but seems decently accurate.</p> Sat, 05 May 2018 06:00:00 Thu, May 03, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-03-2018.html <p>15 minutes recumbent bike, 10 minutes elliptical, 30 lb x 15 curls, 50 lb x 15 presses, 50 lb x 15 tricep dips, 30 pushups. Good workout. Sore from Wednesday - especially hip flexors from the side kick flutters. Yowzers.</p> Thu, 03 May 2018 06:00:00 Wed, May 02, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-02-2018.html <p>Boot Camp. 5 minutes bike to warm up, then beat the crap out of myself for the next 45 minutes. I&#39;ll be sore!</p> Wed, 02 May 2018 06:00:00 Tue, May 01, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-05-01-2018.html <p>Recumbent bike 15 minutes, got sweaty, elliptical 25 minutes slower than I would have liked so I didn&#39;t engage the calf muscle much. 25 lb curls x 20, 50 lb presses &amp; dips x 15, 30 pushups, 60 seconds plank. I&#39;m not sure why the weight dropped, but hopefully it continues a downward trajectory.</p> Tue, 01 May 2018 06:00:00 Fri, Apr 27, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-27-2018.html <p>Boot camp. Kicked my butt (and legs, arms, chest). Left when I started getting a headache from working too hard. I forget how in shape you have to be to do these exercises, so I got lightheaded a lot as I&#39;m trying to do them like I used to when I attended BC regularly. Hopefully won&#39;t be too many weeks before I get back into the rhthym.</p> Fri, 27 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Thu, Apr 26, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-26-2018.html <p>3 miles walking early in the morning. At noon, 6 miles on the recumbent bike, then 20 minutes on the elliptical followed by weights, pushups, plank. My legs are still crazy sore from Monday&#39;s session.</p> Thu, 26 Apr 2018 06:00:00 Mon, Apr 23, 2018 http://russ.fastrunningblog.com/blog-04-23-2018.html <p>Boot camp for the first time in a very long time. I think over 2 years, and I used to do this 2-3 times per week plus run 40-50 mpw. In reading my old blog entries, I realize my best races coincided with this type of cross training. With my calf still jacked up, I&rsquo;ll try and hit this as many MWF as possible. I was gasping for breath and light headed so many times today, it was sad. I used to breeze through this tough class. Lots of guys older than me do this regularly, hopefully I can get back in shape (and lose some weight along the way).&nbsp;</p> Mon, 23 Apr 2018 06:00:00